Latest News

World Car of the Year Awards 2019

The World Car of the Year finalists were announced last week and our brands were included in four of the ten spots

The ten finalists for the World Car of the Year have officially been announced. And it actually contains a few surprises.

The finalists are selected by jury of 86 international automotive journalists by secret ballot based on their own evaluation of the eligible vehicles. 

The ten World Car of the Year finalists are, in alphabetical order:

  • Audi e-tron
  • BMW 3 Series
  • Ford Focus
  • Genesis G70
  • Hyundai Nexo
  • Jaguar I Pace
  • Mercedes-Benz A-class
  • Suzuki Jimny
  • Volvo S60/V60
  • Volvo XC40 

World Urban Car finalists:

  • Audi A1
  • Hyundai Santro
  • Kia Soul
  • Seat Arona
  • Suzuki Jimny


World Luxury Car finalists:

  • Audi A7
  • Audi Q8
  • BMW 8 Series
  • Mercedes-Benz CLS
  • Volkswagen Touareg


World Performance Car finalists:

  • Aston Martin Vantage
  • BMW M2 Competition
  • Hyundai Veloster N
  • McLaren 720S
  • Mercedes-AMG GT 4-door coupe


World Green Car finalists:

  • Audi e-tron
  • Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid
  • Hyundai Nexo
  • Jaguar I-Pace
  • Kia Niro EV


World Car Design of the Year finalists:

  • Citroen C5 Aircross
  • Jaguar E Pace
  • Jaguar I Pace
  • Suzuki Jimny
  • Volvo XC40


The top three World Car of the Year finalists will be announced in March at the Geneva Motor Show, along with the 2019 World Car Person of the Year, while the winner will be revealed at the New York International Auto Show on Wednesday, April 17th, 2019.